San Diego County’s unincorporated area will get a designated seat on the SANDAG board of directors after state legislation added a post for another county supervisor.

However, the county government’s weight in board votes will remain the same.

Currently, the Board of Supervisors chairperson sits on SANDAG, which serves as a regional planner and administrator for the TransNet sales tax. The law allows either of the supervisors from county districts 2 and 5 – currently represented by Dianne Jacob and Bill Horn, respectively – to also sit on the board. Those districts encompass nearly all of the county’s unincorporated areas. Horn’s office estimated that 16 percent of the county’s residents live in unincorporated areas.


Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.