After easily cruising to reelection in June, four San Diego City Council members will be inaugurated Monday for their upcoming four-year terms.

Councilman Kevin Faulconer, who represents downtown San Diego and the beach communities; Councilman Tony Young, the representative for the southeastern neighborhoods; Councilwoman Donna Frye, who represents a district that includes Clairemont Mesa and Mission Valley; and Councilman Ben Hueso, who represents border-area neighborhoods and the communities south of downtown; will all be sworn in at a ceremony at Golden Hall.

Frye just finished her first full term on council. Young’s first two years on council rounded out the remaining term of Charles Lewis, who died in office.

Faulconer and Hueso are finishing out their first year on council after being elected last January to serve for the remaining terms of Michael Zucchet and Ralph Inzunza, who both resigned amid their convictions in 2005.

The inauguration begins at 10 a.m.


Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.