Vista Mayor Morris Vance resigned from the San Diego County Regional Airport Authority’s board today. He will be replaced by San Marcos Mayor Jim Desmond.

Vance’s departure means that five of the seven board members who supported the failed Miramar ballot initiative are now gone. Airport observers had recently speculated that Vance would resign, though he said late last month that he did not intend to. We have a call into him to find out why.

At the airport authority’s meeting this morning, Alan Bersin was unanimously elected as chairman. Paul Nieto, who was absent because of illness, was reelected as vice chairman.

Four other new members were sworn in: Bob Watkins, who was appointed by Sheriff William Kolender; Ramona Finnila, who was appointed by North County coastal mayors; Jim Panknin, who was appointed by East County mayors; and Bruce Boland, who was appointed by Mayor Jerry Sanders. Boland and Panknin were both leaders of the fight against the Miramar ballot measure.

The authority also agreed to change its meeting dates to Thursdays, a change that takes effect in February.


Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.