The revised slate of nominees to the Independent Rates Oversight Committee was confirmed by the City Council this afternoon. The committee came about as a condition of the water and sewer fee increases passed earlier this year; it is an effort to appease critics who wanted better assurance that the new rates would be used appropriately.

One such critic was Carl DeMaio, who was initially nominated to be chairman of the panel earlier this week but later withdrew his name amid council opposition to his appointment.

Several council members said they were concerned DeMaio, a candidate for next year’s District 5 council race, would try to use his spot on the panel for political gain. DeMaio remarked that the council contested his appointment because he has criticized them regularly.

The updated panel includes all but two of the original nominees.

Here they are:

  • Donald Billings, a financier. Billings, a Torrey Pines resident, would serve as the committee’s municipal finance representative. Sanders also requested Billings serve as chairman.
  • Larry Clemens, president of homebuilder Barratt American’s urban division. Clemens, who resides in Rancho Santa Fe, was designated the construction management representative.
  • Linda Cocking, a residential property manager. Cocking, who resides in Tierrasanta, was designated the multi-family residential ratepayer representative.
  • Jack Kubota, a public health engineer. Kubota, who resides in Carlsbad, was designated the committee’s engineering professional.
  • John Nelson, a construction executive. Nelson, who resides in Pacific Beach, was designated as the temporary irrigation and construction representative.
  • Barry Newman, an attorney, retired banker and former president of the San Diego County Taxpayers Association. Newman, a resident of Escondido, was designated the law professional for the committee.
  • Jim Peugh, a wildlife advocate and retired physicist. Peugh, who resides in Point Loma, was designated the environmental representative.
  • Charles Richardson, a retired financier and accountant. Richardson, who resides in Carmel Valley, was designated the audit and accounting representative.
  • Irene Stallard-Rodriguez, a marketing professional. Stallard-Rodriguez, a San Carlos resident, was designated the single-family ratepayer representative to the panel.
  • Todd Webster, a water treatment system engineer. Webster, who lives in Talmadge, was designated the committee’s science professional.
  • Gail Welch, energy manager for Qualcomm. Welch, who lives in Carmel Valley, was designated the commercial and industrial ratepayer delegate.

Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.