Congrats to my colleagues, who took home 26 awards from the San Diego Press Club last night.

The inimitable Will Carless swept the criminal justice reporting category; won a first-place award for this profile of a burglary suspect; won a second-place award for his story about inaccuracies in Police Chief William Lansdowne’s public speeches. He won a first-place award in general news for his story on human trafficking.

Evan McLaughlin led voice‘s sweep of the political reporting category and took home a first-place award in a wildcard category: Coverage of City Attorney Mike Aguirre. voice swept that category, too.

Scott Lewis won a first-place award for his column writing and honorable mention for his in-depth essay on Tijuana sewage.

Andrew Donohue and McLaughlin won a first-place award in political reporting for this piece on the rocky departure of the city’s auditor, and Donohue took home a second-place prize for his coverage of the Southeastern Economic Development Corp.

Kelly Bennett won honorable mentions in the history, real estate and business categories. I won a first-place award in science coverage for this profile of the growing consensus about climate change. And voice alum Vladimir Kogan was a first-place winner in the education category.


Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.