Council President Scott Peters released his nominations for committee assignments this morning, putting forward a list that features a chairmanship for Councilman Tony Young despite Young’s concern that he would be left out of a leadership role because he criticized Peters during last week’s council president election.

Peters’ nominations changed only slightly from his Peters’ first two years as president. Council members Toni Atkins, Donna Frye and Kevin Faulconer remain heads of for the Budget and Finance, Natural Resources and Culture, and Audit Committees, respectively.

But Peters nominated Young and Councilman Ben Hueso to their first chairmanships this year. Young will replace Councilman Brian Maienschein as head of the Public Safety and Neighborhood Services Committee and Hueso will replace Councilman Jim Madaffer as chairman of the Land Use and Housing Committee.

Madaffer was nominated to be the president pro tem, which serves in Peters’ place when he is absent. He will also serve as the chairman of the Rules Committee, which has previously been the responsibility of the council president.

Maienschein will lead a new Committee on Fire Protection and Recovery that Peters wants to set up. The panel will study the city’s fire protection, evacuation procedures and budget resources that were used during the 2003 and 2007 wildfires.

The council will consider confirming Peters’ assignments on Dec. 3.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.