City Council President Scott Peters and incumbent Commissioner Laurie Black were both appointed today to the Unified Port of San Diego’s board.

Their four-year terms start Jan. 2, 2009.

Here’s how the council voted:

Five favored Black: Kevin Faulconer, Toni Atkins, Tony Young, Donna Frye and Jim Madaffer.

Five favored Peters: Kevin Faulconer, Toni Atkins, Brian Maienschein, Jim Madaffer and Ben Hueso.

Four favored Robert McNeely (who Young had nominated to counter Peters): Young, Maienschein, Frye and Hueso.

Young and Frye criticized the decision to make the appointments before four new council members take office next month.

From my earlier post on the subject:

Young said Peters’ nomination was the reason he wanted a delay.

“The reason we’re making this decision today is because one of your colleagues is up,” Young told Councilman Jim Madaffer. “I think it’s manipulative, I think it’s pathetic and that’s the reason I don’t think we should do it.”

Five votes were needed.


Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.