Our reporting relies on your support. Contribute today! 

Help us reach our goal of $250,000. The countdown is on!

There was one notable absence from today’s swearing-in ceremony for San Diego’s newly elected city officials.

“City Attorney Mike Aguirre is not here today as he is traveling out of town,” Scott Peters announced at the outset of the ceremony, the last he presided over as council president.

That statement brought cheers from some in the crowd. Peters wagged his finger at the audience.

“Not today, ladies and gentlemen,” Peters said.

Aguirre was the subject of several barbs during the ceremony, including from some departing council members.

His replacement, Jan Goldsmith, was sworn in today, along with Mayor Jerry Sanders, who is starting his second term, and new City Council members Sherri Lightner, Todd Gloria, Carl DeMaio and Marti Emerald.

The new council is slated to select a new president this afternoon.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.