A few San Diego Unified parents have asked how they can tell if their school will lose federal funding for disadvantaged students under a plan approved Tuesday night that raises the poverty threshold for schools to get the funds. I’ll cut out the middleman and give you the list:

Elementary schools: Foster, Hardy, Jones, Ocean Beach, Mason, Toler, Language Academy, Alcott, Vista Grande, Pacific Beach, Longfellow, Doyle, Dana, Gage, Ericson, Spreckels, and Marvin. Hickman Elementary did not receive such funding last year but would have qualified if the poverty threshold had not changed because of a rise in its percentage of poor students. (School board member Katherine Nakamura mentioned several other schools last night — they fall below the threshold already and will not be affected.)

Middle schools: Lewis, Wangenheim, Correia, Challenger, Standley, De Portola and Pershing.

High schools: Clairemont, Serra, San Diego School of International Studies, San Diego School of the Creative and Performing Arts, Point Loma and University City. Mira Mesa would have otherwise qualified this year but did not under the new plan.


Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.