Twenty San Diego County public schools that receive federal funds for disadvantaged students are being honored by California for making significant academic gains. A press release from the California Department of Education identifies them as:

Chula Vista Elementary School District: Silver Wing Elementary, Otay Elementary, Chula Vista Learning Community Charter (charter)

National School District: Ira Harbison Elementary

Poway Unified School District: Los Peñasquitos Elementary

San Diego Unified School District: Kearny High School of Digital Media and Design, Kearny High School of International Business, Crown Point Elementary, Florence Elementary, Jones Elementary, Ocean Beach Elementary, Mason Elementary Pacific Beach Elementary, Preuss School (charter), King/Chavez Primary Academy (charter)

San Ysidro Elementary School District: Sunset Elementary, Ocean View Hills

South Bay Union Elementary School District: Emory Elementary, West View Elementary, Teofilo Mendoza Elementary

San Diego Unified also sent out a press release to announce its winners:

“This is a great testament to the dedication of our principals, teachers and staff members,” said Bill Kowba, interim superintendent. “Their efforts during these hard times are to be commended.
“We also have to recognize the hard work on the part of the students and their families. After all, it’s the students’ work that we measure.”


Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.