Who will sift through resumes to try to narrow the choices for the next San Diego Unified superintendent? The school board is slated today to approve an appointed committee to take on the task, which three members picked by each board member.

The proposed committee members are listed on the school district website, along with the board members who nominated them:

Richard Barrera: Cesar Chavez Service Club Director Carlos LeGerrette, Central Elementary Principal Cindy Marten and teachers union President Camille Zombro.

John de Beck: Bird Rock Elementary parent Lisa Bonebrake, retired teacher Mark Heinze and technology advocate and bond oversight committee member Matt Spathas.

John Lee Evans: Chamber of Commerce CEO Ruben Barrales, Labor Council CEO Lorena Gonzalez and Carol Hunter, who serves as Evans’ community liaison.

Shelia Jackson: Retired teacher Rev. Ja’Nice Davis-Winston, Leticia Munguia, the labor relations representative for the union that represents custodians, bus drivers and other non-educators, and attorney and bond oversight committee member John Stump.

Katherine Nakamura: Patrick Henry High student Evan Reed, Tierrasanta Recreation Council President Norman Ryan, and former human resources chief Sam Wong.

The board will vote on whether to approve the superintendent search committee this afternoon. The group will get public input about what kind of a superintendent to seek, screen applications and narrow the field to three finalists, who will be publicly announced. The school board will make the final choice of who to hire.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.