

COUNCIL PRESIDENT SEAN ELO-RIVERA NINTH COUNCIL DISTRICT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 3, 2023

TO: Honorable City Councilmembers

FROM: Council President Sean Elo-Rivera

SUBJECT: 2024 City Council Committee Assignments

I recommend the following City Council Committee assignments for consideration by the City Council on January 8, 2024, City Council meeting. Please note the following recommendations reflects the vacancy in District 4 due to Councilmember Monica Montgomery Steppe's departure from the City Council resulting from her election to the San Diego County Board of Supervisors.

Active Transportation and Infrastructure:

Chair, Councilmember Stephen Whitburn Vice Chair, Council President Pro Tem Joe LaCava Member, Councilmember Kent Lee Member, Councilmember Marni von Wilpert

Audit Committee:

Chair, Councilmember Vivian Moreno Member, Councilmember Stephen Whitburn

Budget and Government Efficiency Committee:

Chair, Councilmember Kent Lee Vice Chair, Councilmember Vivian Moreno Member, Council President Sean Elo-Rivera Member, Council President Pro Tem Joe LaCava

Community and Neighborhood Services Committee:

Chair, Councilmember Jennifer Campbell Vice Chair, Councilmember Stephen Whitburn Member, Councilmember Raul Campillo

Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee:

Chair, Councilmember Raul Campillo Vice Chair, Councilmember Kent Lee Member, Councilmember Jennifer Campbell

Environment Committee:

Chair, Council President Pro Tem Joe LaCava Vice Chair, Councilmember Marni von Wilpert Member, Councilmember Jennifer Campbell

Land use and Housing Committee:

Chair, Councilmember Kent Lee Vice Chair, Council President Pro Tem Joe LaCava Member, Councilmember Vivian Moreno Member, Councilmember Stephen Whitburn

Public Safety Committee:

Chair, Councilmember Marni von Wilpert Vice Chair, Councilmember Raul Campillo Member, Councilmember Stephen Whitburn

Rules Committee:

Chair, Council President Sean Elo-Rivera Vice Chair, Council President Pro Tem Joe LaCava Member, Councilmember Kent Lee Member, Councilmember Vivian Moreno Member, Councilmember Raul Campillo

Based on these appointments, the standing committees will have the following compositions:

- Active Transportation and Infrastructure Committee four committee members
- Budget and Government Efficiency Committee four committee members
- Community and Neighborhood Services Committee three committee members
- Economic Development and Intergovernmental Relations Committee three committee members
- Environment Committee three committee members
- Land Use and Housing Committee four committee members
- Public Safety Committee three committee members
- Rules Committee five committee members
- CC: Honorable Mayor Todd Gloria Honorable City Attorney Mara Elliott Charles Modica, Independent Budget Analyst Diana Fuentes, City Clerk Mary Ann Wallace, Director of Council Administration Tyler Burch, City Council Committee Liaison