Reid Carr | Chair

Reid Carr is the President & CEO of Red Door Interactive. Named a Top Small Company Workplace by Inc Magazine, Red Door works with clients such as Petco, Cricket Wireless and Rubio’s. In 2011, iMedia Connection named Reid one of the 25 Hottest Digital Marketers. His civic involvement includes membership in Rotary International’s Club 33 and the Young Presidents Organization. He is a 2010 graduate of INFLUENCE San Diego.

Cynthia Morgan-Reed | Vice Chair

Cynthia Morgan-Reed is a legal entrepreneur and land use attorney at Morgan-Reed Law. She has served on Civic San Diego, the Downtown Partnership, the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce, and many legal and land use organizations. She is a strong advocate for government transparency and an educated electorate.

Bob Kelly | Treasurer

Bob Kelly served as the President and CEO of The San Diego Foundation for two decades. Since retiring from TSDF in 2014, Bob has held the role of Executive in Residence at the Sanford Institute of Philanthropy and has continued his work to foster strategic partnerships between organizations and community leaders. Bob joined the VOSD Board in 2015.

Jesus Medrano | Secretary

Jesus Medrano was born and raised in San Diego.  After graduating from MIT with a mathematics degree he returned back to San Diego to work as an aerospace engineer on autonomous drones then transitioning to software engineering.  Jesus has worked on several popular mobile applications for large tech firms in the Silicon Valley / San Francisco Bay area. Today he works on mobile applications at Uber Technologies Inc.

Chris Cate

Chris Cate is the founder of 3MC Strategies, a San Diego firm specializing in public policy, public affairs, and business development. Chris founded the firm following his 8 years of service on the San Diego City Council representing District 6. Chris was only the third Asian American in San Diego’s history elected to the City Council. In addition to VOSD, Chris serves on the board of ECS California, UC San Diego Chancellor Community Advisory Board, and the Mira Mesa Community Planning Group.

Erin Chambers Smith

Erin Smith is the former Chief Content Officer at San Diego Magazine, where she ran content strategy for 10+ publications as well as digital products, podcasts and corporate partnerships. She has more than 15 years of experience in the media industry, starting as a reporter at BusinessWeek in 2004. She currently works in marketing at the San Diego Tourism Authority, serves on the board of trustees of the San Diego History Center and has lectured on media and the magazine industry at the University of San Diego and Point Loma Nazarene.

Scott Lewis

Scott Lewis is Voice of San Diego’s editor in chief and CEO. Scott oversees Voice of San Diego’s operations, its website and daily functions. He also writes about local politics, where he frequently breaks news and goes back and forth with local political figures.

Nickie Peña

Nickie Peña is the director of marketing and communications at Girl Scouts San Diego, where she supports the council’s advancement and philanthropic efforts, spearheading its marketing communications, PR and media relations, government affairs, and local branding efforts.

Outside of her career, Nickie is active in her community through her volunteer work with MANA de San Diego, San Diego Brewers Guild, Pink Boots Society and California Craft Brewers Association.

nickie pena

Derek Quackenbush

Derek Quackenbush is a business leader who has helped drive the growth of exciting healthcare and technology companies. Derek’s background spans private, public and international companies ranging from start-up to Fortune 500 and Big-4 public accounting in leadership roles such as CFO, COO, and interim-CEO. Mr. Quackenbush is actively involved in the community with board/committee roles at Sharp Healthcare and the San Diego Seniors Community Foundation. Mr. Quackenbush has been a participant in the San Diego Venture Group, San Diego Tech Founders, StartUp San Diego, and the CFO Roundtable. Mr. Quackenbush was a finalist for the San Diego Business Journal’s CFO of the year (2009).

Derek Quackenbush

Scott Woolley

Scott Woolley is a San Diego native and journalist who writes about business, technology and public policy. He was the west coast bureau chief for Forbes magazine and wrote The Network, a book of narrative nonfiction published by Ecco/HarperCollins. He is a graduate of Claremont McKenna College and the Kennedy School of Government, and currently resides, grudgingly, in Los Angeles.

William Osborne

Bill was a journalist for more than 44 years for The San Diego Union-Tribune, covering local government beats and local, state and national politics before being assigned to the newspaper’s Washington, D.C., bureau. He returned to San Diego, serving in various newsroom management positions before being named director of the Editorial and Opinion Department in 1998. He retired in February 2016. Bill is a graduate of the University of Missouri and its School of Journalism.

Board Member Emeritus

Bob Page

Bob owns a media management company which is actively engaged in newspaper and magazine consulting. Prior to forming his own company, he owned three community newspapers in suburban San Diego. He is a former publisher of the Chicago Sun-Times and the Boston Herald. In 20 years with United Press International, he rose through the ranks to become executive vice president and general manager.


Neil Morgan

Neil was the author of 12 books including “Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel” (with Judith Morgan), and “Westward Tilt.” As a journalist, his decades of prodding regional efforts have helped to make San Diego a center of higher education and scientific research. Neil passed away in February, 2014. The Neil Morgan Fund for Investigative Reporting was created in his honor.

Buzz Woolley

Buzz Woolley is a retired venture capitalist and entrepreneur and former Chairman of the Board of Voice of San Diego. He is President of Girard Foundation which has provided funding for K-12 education projects in San Diego County since 1986.