Three public schools in San Diego County were tapped for national honors today. Otay Elementary in Chula Vista, the School of Digital Media and Design (one of the schools-within-a-school at Kearny High)and Preuss School UCSD, a charter school on a university campus that targets disadvantaged students, were chosen as National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The national awards honor schools that are either high performing — in the top 10 percent in the state on both reading and math tests — or greatly improved, especially when it comes to the academic performance of disadvantaged children. Private schools are also eligible.

State officials nominate schools for the honor and the U.S. Department of Education announces the winners. Across California, 25 schools got the award, including four private schools.

For more information about the Blue Ribbon School awards, here’s the Department of Education’s rundown.

Please contact Emily Alpert directly at or 619.550.5665 and follow her on Twitter:

Emily Alpert was formerly the education reporter for Voice of San Diego.

Leave a comment

We expect all commenters to be constructive and civil. We reserve the right to delete comments without explanation. You are welcome to flag comments to us. You are welcome to submit an opinion piece for our editors to review.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.